STATE OF WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation adopts an order to repeal TRANS $327.01(2)(b)$ and (c), and (e) to (h), $327.05(3)$ and (4), and $327.09(6)$ to (12); renumber TRANS $327.01(2)(d)$, 327.05(5) and (6), and $327.09(13)$; amend TRANS $327.03(intro.)$, (2) and (7), 327.07(2), and $327.09(5)(intro.)$, (b) and (c); and create TRANS $327.03(10)$ and 327.09(7), relating to motor carrier safety.	ORDER ADOPTING RULE
--	---------------------

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted: ss. 110.07 and 110.075, and ch. 194, Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 110.07, 110.075, 194.38, 194.43 and 227.11, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: The secretary shall set standards and adopt rules to establish a plan of inspection to implement the inspection program. It shall be the duty of the Department to prescribe rules and regulations as to safety and operations and the hours of service of drivers of motor vehicles operated under the authority of this chapter.

Related statute or rule: ss. 110.07, Stats.

Plain language analysis: This rule making will amend ch. Trans 327, relating to intrastate motor carrier safety regulations, to bring it into compliance with the most recent changes to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations which went into effect on April 1, 2006. Amendment of this rule will assure State Patrol inspectors and troopers are enforcing the most recent Federal Motor Carrier Safety regulations for intrastate carriers. The update of this rule will also keep the Department in compliance to qualify for continued Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program (MCSAP) funding.

The Department annually updates ch. Trans 327 to keep current with the most recent changes to 49 CFR parts 390, 391, 392, 393, 395, 396 and 397.

In addition, the adoption of Trans 327 will give the Department the authority to use federal standards by which traffic officers and state patrol inspectors declare vehicles and drivers out of service. The offices of the Attorney General and the Revisor of Statutes Bureau have consented to the incorporation by reference of the revised North American Uniform Out-of-Service Criteria under the provision of § 227.21(2), Stats.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: Trans 327 (Motor Carrier Safety) adopts Federal regulations 49 CFR parts 390 to 397, with exceptions.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States: All adjacent states (Michigan, Minnesota, Illinois, and Iowa) adopt the same Federal regulations.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the related findings support the regulatory approach chosen: The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration did extensive research into the most recent changes to the rules regulating commercial motor carriers and commercial drivers. Its research, coupled with input from the motor carrier industry, resulted in the recently revised regulations for interstate and intrastate commerce effective April 1, 2006.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small businesses: The research provided by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration was used in analyzing the effects on small business.

Effect on small business: This rule will have minimal adverse impact on small businesses. The Department's Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at andrew.ruiz@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585.

Fiscal effect and anticipated costs incurred by private sector: The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult education district or sewerage district. The Department estimates that there will no fiscal impact on state revenues or liabilities, and some impact on the private sector.

Agency contact person and copies of rule: Copies of the rule can be obtained, without cost, by writing to Capt. Chuck Teasdale, Department of Transportation, Division of State Patrol, Room 551, P. O. Box 7936, Madison, WI 53707-7936. You may also contact Capt. Teasdale by phone at (608) 266-0305.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Trans 327.01(2)(b) and (c) are repealed.

SECTION 2. Trans 327.01(2)(d) is renumbered Trans 327.01(2)(b).

SECTION 3. Trans 327.01(2)(e) to (h) are repealed.

SECTION 4. Trans 327.03(intro.) is amended to read:

Trans 327.03 Federal regulations adopted. (intro.) The following federal motor

carrier safety regulations adopted by the United States department of transportation and

in effect on January 4, 2004 January 4, 2004 October 1, 2006, are adopted by the department and shall be enforced in relation to those carriers, drivers or vehicles which operate in intrastate commerce in the same manner as though the regulations were set out in full in this chapter:

SECTION 5. Trans 327.03(2) and (7) are amended to read:

Trans 327.03(2)(a) Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, part 391, qualifications of drivers, except:

<u>1.</u> 391.11(b)(1) and 391.41(b)(3), if in the alternative a driver with diabetes controlled by insulin obtains statements from 2 physicians indicating on a form provided by the department of transportation that the diabetes is not likely to cause loss of ability to control or operate a commercial motor vehicle.

2. 391.41(b)(10), if a driver who does not meet the vision standards provides documentation from a licensed vision specialist that he or she does not have progressive eye disease; that his or her vision in the best eye, corrected or uncorrected, is at least 20/40 (Snellen); and that he or she has a minimum of 70-degree visual field from the center of at least one eye. The documentation shall be accompanied by a statement from the specialist indicating that the driver's vision is not likely to cause a loss of ability to control or operate a commercial motor vehicle. A driver may apply for an exception or waiver to drive in intrastate commerce by submitting this information with his or her application.

(b) A driver is not eligible for an exception or waiver under par. (a) if he or she has had any moving violations or any reportable at-fault accidents while driving any motor vehicle within the 3-year period prior to the date of the application. After a driver

receives an exception or waiver, his or her noncompliance with any applicable reporting requirements may result in cancellation of the exception or waiver.

(7) Every traffic officer and state patrol inspector employed under the authority of s. 110.07, Stats., is authorized to declare vehicles and drivers out-of-service in accordance with the 2003 2003-2006 North American uniform out-of-service criteria.

SECTION 6. Trans 327.03(10) is created to read:

Trans 327.03(10) <u>Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, part 395, hours of</u> <u>service of drivers, except 395.1(e)(1), 395.1(h), 395.1(i), 395.5, 395.8, and the</u> maximum number of hours identified in 395.3 <u>are changed to read</u> is adopted as follows:

(a) More than 12 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty.

(b) For any period after having been on duty 16 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty.

(c) After having been on duty for 70 hours in any period of 7 consecutive days.

(d) After having been on duty for 80 hours in any period of 8 consecutive days.

SECTION 7. Trans 327.05(3) and (4) are repealed.

SECTION 8. Trans 327.05(5) and (6) are renumbered Trans 327.05(3) and (4) and Trans 327.05(4)(b)1. and 2., as renumbered, are amended to read:

Trans 327.05(4)(b)1. No driver shall drive after being on duty in excess of the maximum periods permitted by sub. (3) s. Trans 327.03(10).

2. No driver required to maintain a record of duty status under sub. (5) (3) shall fail to have a true and accurate record of duty status current on the day of examination and for the prior 7 consecutive days.

SECTION 9. Trans 327.07(2) is amended to read:

Trans 327.07(2) The provisions of ss. Trans 327.03(2), (3) and, (6) and (10), and 327.05 shall be enforced under the provisions of ss. 194.38 and 194.43, Stats.

SECTION 10. Trans 327.09(5)(intro.), (b) and (c) are amended to read:

Trans 327.09(5)(intro.) The provisions of s. Trans $327.05(\frac{5}{(3)})$ do not apply to drivers of vehicles operating within an area having a 150 air mile radius from the drivers' home post office or a 150 air mile radius from the official worksite of the vehicle if:

(b) At least 8 10 consecutive hours off duty separate each 12 hours on duty.

(c) The driver does not exceed 12 hours maximum driving time following 8 10 consecutive hours off duty.

SECTION 11. Trans 327.09(6) to (12) are repealed.

SECTION 12. Trans 327.09(13) is renumbered Trans 327.09(6) and, as renumbered, Trans 327.09(6)(a) is amended to read:

Trans 327.09(6)(a) The provisions of ss. Trans 327.03(2) and 327.05 do not apply to drivers of motor vehicles when transporting property or passengers during a declared emergency as defined in s. Trans 327.01(2)(dd)(b). Each employer must declare and document that the emergency is necessary to assure the protection of public health and safety or to provide other essential assistance to the public. Each employer shall maintain such documentation for one year and shall make it available upon request of a traffic officer or state patrol inspector. Each employer shall also notify the Wisconsin department of transportation, division of state patrol of such declarations by fax or first class mail within 30 days or by the end of the calendar year, whichever is greater.

SECTION 13. Trans 327.09(7) is created to read:

Trans 327.09(7) The provisions of this chapter do not apply to any farm truck or dual purpose farm truck combined with any semitrailer or farm trailer, or any vehicle combined with a horse trailer, if the vehicle combination's gross combination weight rating, registered weight, and actual gross weight do not exceed 26,000 pounds, the vehicle combination does not include a commercial motor vehicle described in s. 340.01 (8)(c) or (d), Stats., and the vehicle combination is operated solely in intrastate commerce.

(END OF RULE TEXT)

Effective Date. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this _____ day of August, 2006.

FRANK J. BUSALACCHI Secretary Wisconsin Department of Transportation